Twitter icon
Facebook icon
RSS icon
YouTube icon


UC-AFT Statement on Capitol Invasion


January 7, 2021UC-AFT logo transparent_1.png

Yesterday began with news that Rev. Raphael Warnock and Jon Ossoff had been elected to represent the State of Georgia in the United States Senate. As representatives of UC-AFT, the labor union for teaching faculty and librarians at the University of California, we are proud that activists from the labor movement, particularly activists of color, contributed to these victories.

Then, our members watched in horror as armed terrorists stormed the U.S. Capitol in an apparent attempt to overthrow our legitimate government. UC-AFT abhors the coup attempt. Its perpetrators and enablers endangered our Congressional representatives, our civil servants, and our electoral process. In the past, Capitol police have forcibly dragged out unarmed activists with disabilities who were protesting healthcare cuts; they have shot rubber bullets at and arrested thousands of peaceful Black Lives Matters activists. Yesterday, they appeared to usher a violent, racist insurrection in to the very seat of our government. We are deeply concerned by these disparate reactions.

We join the CFT and AFT in condemning the attack in Washington, D.C.

The President, who incited the attack, should be removed from office.

The reckless Senators and Representatives who supported the President's baseless objections to the election results and condoned the assault should resign.

Those who committed crimes in the course of storming the Capitol should be held accountable.

We call for a full investigation into the failure of the Capitol police to adequately prepare for a planned and publicized event. We demand that peaceful protesters be treated with at least the same deference shown to armed insurgents.

We know that white supremacist violence is endemic to American history - the rule rather than the exception. We take this moment to affirm our commitment to strengthening democracy, advancing labor and racial justice, and ensuring educational equity. We urge our members to join us in organizing for these goals and protecting the peaceful transfer of power to the legitimately-elected Biden administration.

Mia L. McIver, President
Katie Arosteguy, Vice President for Grievances
John Rundin, Vice President for Legislation
Daniel Schoorl, Vice President for Organizing
Miki Goral, Secretary-Treasurer
Kendra K. Levine, Chair, Committee on Policing
Megan Strom, Chair, Anti-Racism Committee